Stephanie Perkins ~ “Anna and the French Kiss”

Stephanie Perkin’s Anna and the French Kiss was an easy read, but it was not a book lacking of substance. The events in the life of Anna and Etienne were very relatable especially when it came to overcoming bullying, dealing with conflict within the family, importance of having true friendship, working on one’s dream, balancing love and using it as an inspiration to bring change.

image

Below’s what’s from the flap of Anna and the French Kiss:

“Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her co-worker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year. But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Etienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken – and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French Kiss she’s been waiting for?”

Teens, young adults and those who are young-at-heart, like me, will be hooked with this book. When I started reading, I couldn’t put it down. It was romantic. It was also a bit sensual in a “wholesome way” at the same time. I also felt giddy and thrilled just by reading about how Etienne and Anna have felt when they had their Thanksgiving “sleepover.”

I cheated on her everyday. In my mind, I thought of you in ways I shouldn’t have, again and again. She was nothing compared to you. I have never felt this way about anybody before.”

The love story between Anna and Etienne weren’t just about being romantic, but also dealing about the realities of loving someone especially if that person was already in a relationship, more so if you consider them as your best friend…knowing when to let go, to move on and when to take risks.

“And I realized…it’s okay. It’s okay if St. Clair and I never become more than friends. His friendship alone has strengthened me in ways that no one else’s ever has. He swept me from my room and showed me independence. In other words, he was exactly what I needed. I won’t forget it. I certainly don’t want to lose it.”

The book also tackled sensitive family issues about having parents who are over-achievers and felt that they have to keep up appearances and wanted their kids to be the same way disregarding their dreams and aspirations.

“We sit in silence. ‘I’ve been thinking lately,’ he says after a while. ‘About me mum and dad. How she gives in to him. How she won’t leave him. And as much as I love her, I hate her for it. I don’t understand why she won’t stand up for herself, why she won’t go for what she wants. But I have been doing the same thing. I’m just like her.”

For me, the book satisfied by “romantic spells” but also made me cry as well on some parts especially when betrayal and talk about family was described. It also made my resolve much more stronger to save up for that Paris trip, watch movies on their theaters and probably write a decent movie review in the process.

Happy to have come across this book.

Over-all, I will give Anna and the French Kiss ★ ★ ★ ★.

Happy reading!

Stephanie Perkins ~ “Anna and the French Kiss”

Leave a Reply

